Show All Discussions

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

The Eight Limbs of Yoga
Date: 4/19/2023

The eight limbs of yoga, as described by the ancient sage Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras, are:

Yama: Ethical standards or moral disciplines, including non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence, and non-covetousness.

Niyama: Personal disciplines, including purity, contentment, self-discipline, self-study, and surrender to a higher power.

Asana: Physical postures or exercises, which are practiced to keep the body healthy, strong, and flexible.

Pranayama: Breathing techniques or exercises, which are used to control and regulate the flow of breath and energy in the body.

Pratyahara: Sense withdrawal, which involves turning inward and withdrawing the senses from external distractions.

Dharana: Concentration, which involves focusing the mind on a single point or object of meditation.

Dhyana: Meditation, which involves experiencing a state of profound inner stillness and awareness.

Samadhi: Union with the Divine, which involves transcending the limitations of the ego and experiencing a state of pure consciousness and bliss.

These eight limbs are interrelated and interconnected, and are meant to be practiced together as a holistic system for achieving spiritual growth and enlightenment.

Was this information helpful?

0 found this helpful
0 did not find this helpful

No replies yet
Join to reply

Copyright © 2023 Join a Meet all rights reserved
Support Email: